Hello MSCA members and welcome to a brand new year! I'm delighted and excited to be serving as your president for the next two years.

This past June we held our annual MCA ILT meeting where board members and interested and upcoming leaders met for leadership training. We were able to develop our goals for the next year that I would like to share with you.

One goal for us this year is to update the compass quarterly with updates about the accomplishments of Mississippi’s amazing school counselors and MSCA.  We also want to keep the website updated as well and include pictures to showcase our organization.
Increasing membership also continues to be a goal for MSCA.  As a group we need to contact inactive members and encourage them to join.
Another continued and important goal for MSCA as an organization is to increase involvement in conference development.  We need to secure 2 sponsors, 2 ads for the program booklet, 5 exhibitors/vendors and become a sponsor.  Forms are located at

Lastly I would like to share pictures from the 2017 American School Counselor Association Annual Conference that I was able to attend July 8-11, 2017. This was a remarkable experience that allowed me to gain the knowledge to improve my school counseling program and meet school counselors from other states.

I look forward to serving as president of MSCA.  Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.



 Michelle Cresap

Officers 2017 - 2018

Michelle Cresap
Heather Norton
President Elect 
Michelle Harrison
Wayne Richey
Jeri Lynn Rushing
Past President

Chelsea Rushing Foust
Elementary VP

Sonya Mars
Middle VP  

Melissa Windham
High School VP  

Dr. Laith Mazahreh
Post-Secondary VP


Counselor News  2017

September 2017 issue

October 2017 issue

Congratulations to Candie Garrison and Megan Kappenman of Hernando Middle School on being the 5th school in the state of Mississippi to earn the RAMP distinction!  Who's next? 
Mississippi Ramp Winners Candie Garrison and Megan Kappenman


Twenty-five school counselors from Mississippi were present for the ASCA National Conference in Denver, Colorado.  Picture below left to right are:
Melissa Windham, Michelle Cresap, Paulette Edwards, Crystal Brewer, Lori Parker, Heather Norton, Brooke Jenkins,  and Eddie Burgo.

MS School Counselors at ASCA

Bylaws Revised February 2016


2015 Spring Newsletter


Counselor News: Spring 2014

Spring 2014: Read Now

Counselor News: Winter 2014

Winter 2014: Read Now



Links & Resource

MS Department of Ed

MS Department of Ed School Counseling Many resources available here, including The Handbook for School Counselors